Our website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the website without modifying your cookie settings you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.

Change to SSE Airtricity Northern Ireland at any time using the links provided.

News & Events

Airtricity League 2013 season is launched


1 March 2013

The 2013 Airtricity League season was officially launched today when players, managers and officials from all 20 clubs attended a reception in the Aviva Stadium.

The Airtricity League Premier and First Divisions will commence on Friday, March 8 and a total of 330 league and play-off games will be played between then and November 1 in addition to matches in the FAI Ford Cup, EA SPORTS Cup, Setanta Sports Cup, UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League.

RTE and Setanta Sports will be continuing their live coverage of matches during the season and the popular RTE Two weekly highlights programme, MNS, will return to the screens on Monday, March 11.

Among the highlights of the new season will be the return of Premier Division football to Limerick after an absence of 19 seasons in addition to the introduction of Thomond Park as an Airtricity League venue. The 2013 season will also mark the return of Cobh Ramblers to the First Division after a four year absence.

Paul O'Shaughnessy, Head of Energy Sales, Airtricity, commented: "The Airtricity League continues to improve all the time and we're very proud at Airtricity, through our sponsorship and our association with clubs, fans and communities all across the country, to play our part towards that improvement."

The 12 clubs participating in the 2013 Premier Division will be: Bohemians, Bray Wanderers, Cork City, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Limerick, St Patrick's Athletic, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers and UCD. The eight clubs participating in the 2013 First Division will be: Athlone Town, Cobh Ramblers, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Mervue United, Salthill Devon, Waterford United and Wexford Youths.

View the full press release