SSE Airtricity / Soccer Writers Ireland Personality of the Year 2021

To ensure a smooth and reliable expereince while using this, we strongly recommend you use a modern browser, such as Chrome, Firefox or Internet Explorer (version 9 or higher, ideally version 11+).

What can I do?

  • You may already have Chrome, Firefox, or Internet Explorer installed on your computer. We recommend you use one of the browsers. If you don't have any of these, you can download them for free.
  • Talk to your company's IT department, which may be able to provide you with an alternative browser.

Stephen Bradley and Kylie Murphy win 2021 SSE Airtricity / Soccer Writers Ireland Personality of the Year awards

SSE Airtricity are delighted to announce the winners at the 2021 Personality of the Year awards

The Women’s Personality of the Year award has been introduced for the very first time this year. Wexford Youths captain Kylie Murphy is the inaugural winner of this awards thanks to her performances throughout the 2021 campaign.

Following a switch from midfield to centre forward, the 33-year-old scored 15 league goals last season as well as scoring in November’s FAI Women’s Cup final to help Youths overcome Shelbourne at Tallaght Stadium.

"I’m genuinely blown away," said Murphy. "First and foremost, I’m delighted that a women’s award has been created. That’s the big highlight but to be the first name on it is pretty huge."

Meanwhile Hoops manager Stephen Bradley earned the most votes among SWI members to be named Men’s Personality of the Year.

"I think it’s just a reflection of what the team has done to be honest," said Bradley. "The staff, the players have performed and won the league and I think that’s what got me recognised.

“For me, it’s brilliant when you look at the names on the trophy. It is an honour to win it. It’s more a reflection of what the team has achieved and, thankfully, I get named for the award as a personal accolade but I think it’s more down to the team."

Goalkeeper of the Year award has been awarded to Vitezslav Jaros. “I’m over the moon,” said the 20-year-old. “I wasn’t expecting it, so to get the trophy for Goalkeeper of the Year is brilliant.

Elsewhere, Gavin White of Shelbourne has been voted Press Officer of the Year, while the prize for Website of the Year went to Dundalk.

Winner of the Liam Tuohy Special Merit award is the late Jerry Harris in recognition of his outstanding service to football in Cork, in particular, and to League of Ireland football.

“One of the nicest, kindest people you could meet. A gentleman of the sport, we extend our deep condolences to his family as the award goes to him posthumously.” SWI President Tony O’Donoghue paid tribute to Harris, who sadly passed away last month.

A message from David Manning, Customer Marketing Director of SSE Airtricity

“We would like to congratulate all of the winners on their awards this year. It is a huge personal achievement for each of the winners to be honoured with these awards and it is a testament to the efforts they have made throughout the past year to elevate the entirety of the SSE Airtricity League and Women’s National League”.

“We are delighted to have seen the introduction of the Women’s Personality of the Year award this year since beginning our sponsorship of the Women’s National League and it was fitting to see Kylie Murphy win the inaugural award given her exceptional performances across the last year.”

“Furthermore, we too would like to extend our sincere condolences to the family of the late Jerry Harris, the winner of the Liam Tuohy Special Merit award. His impact on football in Ireland and his service to the game is clear to see and is truly incredible.”

Find out more about the SSE Airtricity Leagues and watch out for upcoming season announcements,